Right to erasure: What is it?
As per Article 17 and Article 20 of the GDPR, compliant businesses / organizations must be able to show any site user the personal data that the site is storing and remove a user from the sites' databases upon request.
What Does That Mean for UXi sites?
UXi saves user's personal data when they've submitted form entries or made comments on blog posts. In short, if a user wants to know what info a website has already collected, we need to provide our clients a method to send it to them. If a user wants said data removed from the site, we need to provide our clients a method to permanently delete it
The UXi Tools section now includes two new tools.
Export Personal Data
- User reaches out with a form submission request to view their data thats been saved in the site's database.
- Client confirms request by entering the user's email on the Tools > Export Personal Data dashboard. This sends a confirmation email to the user.
- Once they confirm, the client can use the Email Data button to send them a file containing their info.
Erase Personal Data
After reviewing their personal data that was sent via email, the user can make a request that said data be removed.
Here's how that process will go for our clients managing the site :
- User reaches out with a form submission request to have their data removed from the site's database.
- Client QA's this request by entering the user's email on the new Forms > Personal Data Review dashboard. This allows them to quickly view all form submissions containing that email, even if the email was included in an extra field of the form, not only as the sender of the entry. Once they're ready to remove the user from the site, they select the Approve For Data Erasure option.
- One approved, the client can use the Erase Personal Data button back on Tools > Erase Personal Data to delete them from the site.
To give users the option to review or remove their data on UXi sites, we'll continue to use forms for these requests. We've got a couple options for this:
- Use the general 'Contact Us' form to receive these requests. This option is viable as long as a comment field is available for the user to specify that they're making a request to have their data deleted.